10 Author Events Coming to Greater Boston in March

Are you looking for a bookish event to add to your calendar?

Here are some of the authors coming to bookstores and libraries in the Boston area this month.

Be sure to check your local library and bookstore’s event calendar to see what author events are coming to your community.

 

1. Wednesday March 4th at 7pm – Belmont Books

Katrin Schumann in conversation with Whitney Scharer

From the bestselling author of The Forgotten Hours comes an unforgettable story of one woman’s journey to reclaim what she lost in a country torn apart by the devastating legacy of WWII.

 

2. Thursday March 5th – 7pm, Belmont Books

Gish Jen – The Resisters

“The Resisters is palpably loving, smart, funny, and desperately unsettling. The novel should be required reading for the country both as a cautionary tale and because it is a stone-cold masterpiece. This is Gish Jen’s moment. She has pitched a perfect game.” –Ann Patchett

A moving and important story of an America that seems ever more possible, The Resisters is also the story of one family struggling to maintain its humanity and normalcy in circumstances that threaten their every value–as well as their very existence.

 3. Tuesday March 10th at 6pm – Boston Public Library, Copley

Ken Liu at the BPL Newsfeed Cafe

Screen Shot 2020-02-12 at 8.44.19 PM

From stories about time-traveling assassins, to Black Mirror-esque tales of cryptocurrency and Internet trolling, to heartbreaking narratives of parent-child relationships, THE HIDDEN GIRL AND OTHER STORIES is a far-reaching work that explores topical themes from the present and a speculative look at humanity’s future.

4. Thursday March 12th – 7pm at An Unlikely Story

Rebecca Serle, In Five Years

 

What will your life look like in five years? Rebecca Serle’s new book, IN FIVE YEARS, plays with this question when an ambitious young woman has a vision of her life five years in the future. Perfect for fans of ME BEFORE YOU, IN FIVE YEARS is a love story that brings heartbreak and joy in equal measure. At the event, Rebecca will be joined onstage by Robin Kall, of Reading with Robin, to talk about her new book, answer audience questions, and sign copies. Beer and wine will be available for purchase.

Called a “heroic narrative” and “compact and energetic” by The Wall Street Journal,Tina’s work tells the the inspiring and timely account of the complex relationship between leading suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in her fight for women’s equality.

 

6. Sunday March 15th at 10am -Bull Run Restaurant with Silver Unicorn Books

Doris Kearns Goodwin, Leadership In Turbulent Times

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 11.02.54 AM

Ticketed Community Event: Doris Kearns Goodwin will be speaking at the Bull Run Restaurant and we’ll be there to sell her book!  Doris Kearns Goodwin is a world-renowned presidential historian, public speaker and Pulitzer Prize-winning, New York Times #1 best-selling author. Her seventh book, Leadership in Turbulent Times, was published in September 2018 to critical acclaim and became an instant New York Times bestseller. A culmination of Goodwin’s five-decade career of studying the American presidents focusing on Presidents Abraham Lincoln, Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin Roosevelt and Lyndon Baines Johnson, the book provides an accessible and essential road map for aspiring and established leaders in every field, and for all of us in our everyday lives.

In this lush and playful picture book from E. B. Goodale, illustrator of Windows, Kate feels ignored by her mother and sister and so decides to run away. In a neighboring yard, she builds a fort and enjoys a sense of independence—until she finds herself making room for her family in her new home … Under the Lilacs is the perfect celebration of striking out on your own—while still making room for everyone.

 

8. Friday March 20th at 6:30pm – An Unlikely Story, Plainville

Nick Bruel, Bad Kitty Joins the Team

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 11.05.20 AM
Ticketed Event: See Kitty as you’ve never seen her before: EXERCISING (reluctantly) in Bad Kitty Joins the Team, the latest installment of Nick Bruel’s phenomenally successful New York Times bestselling series.

 

9. Friday March 20th- 7:30pm at Back Bay Events Center

Hilary Mantel, The Mirror & The Light with Harvard Bookstore

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 11.12.59 AM

Ticketed Event: Harvard Book Store is honored to welcome acclaimed writer HILARY MANTEL—two-time winner of the Booker Prize for her bestselling novels, Wolf Hall, and its sequel, Bring Up the Bodies—for a discussion of the highly anticipated, final book in the Cromwell trilogy, The Mirror & the Light.

 

Raúl the Third, ¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 11.34.42 AM

Porter Square Books is pleased to welcome Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third for ¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat! Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let’sGo to the Market, a Porter Square Books staff favorite!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s